Dragon Lasers :: Laser Pointers :: Blue Laser Pointers :: Customer feedback

Blue Laser Pointers

Blue Laser Pointers
Blue Laser Pointers 189
 
(189 reviews)  

3 stars
189 review(s)
2 stars: 
0 review(s)
1 stars: 
0 review(s)




Customer feedback

Most useful first | Newest first  
189 results found
Show results 151 - 175
David B
Nov 29, 2010
Here is a collection of posts I made on this subject on my facebook page, an honest comparison between the Dragon and Wicked's. For my purposes, I prefer the Dragon:

Blue Lasers, Dragon vs Wicked: I've had the opportunity to play with both. Details to follow, but if you want to put the laser to work, the Dragon is the better choice. It's simple cylindrical exterior is easy to mount, and the butt mounted power button is easily accessible when mounted.

The Dragon comes with nothing, no instructions, nothing to say what batteries it takes, not even the polarity of the batteries when you put them in. I took a $15 chance and bought what I thought were the right ones, but then put them in backwards. It worked after correcting that. First target, a discarded cigarette butt that ignited almost instantly. Cool!

Wicked, when they use the right diode, burns too, but mostly they ship the 400mW version ( IF they ever ship anything at all! ). Dragon has 2 versions, the 400mW and the ~1W. I ordered the ~1W.

Both are DANGEROUS! These are not toys and can easily be used, even accidentally, as weapons. The Wicked's SmartSwitch, while a PITA to use, is like locking up your guns. The Dragon has no such safety feature, take the batteries out and store them separately.

It really looks like the dragon will do what I want. I played with various lenses, several were promising but 1 stands out. It has a *very* short focal length and focuses the beam to a pinpoint, instantly burning wood. By varying the distance slightly, the spot size and therefore the power denisty is easily controlable. I can engrave with this!

It is dangerous, it's not a toy by any means, nor is it a laser pointer. I'll admit I'm playing around with it, but I intend to use it in my jewelry business, it has a few applications there. I bought laser safety glasses too. The biggest danger is to the eyes. I worked with lasers at Burr Brown, got shot in the back of my right hand by a 50W YAG laser when a coworker pulled a practical joke on me.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Jason L
Nov 29, 2010
I liked my 75mW so much, I came back and bought a 1W Blue Spartan series. That thing is a beast! Just look on Youtube for burning demos. Also look for comparison to a certain other laser that used to call itself a light saber. The Spartan blows that laser away, and is actually at least $25 cheaper after shipping. The body is like a robust Maglight, and the brightness easily competes with any Green laser in the sky. (Green appears brighter than blue due to perception) This is the big dog. Any time it's not shining into the sky, it should be used with glasses. Light a match? Child's play. This thing lights the wood the match is made of! Unlike the competitor, it actually puts out a bit more than 1W until the batteries conch-out at about 15 minutes of use. Then the dip puts it right on the 1W line.

Please watch the videos on Youtube for the power of the 1W Spartan so you understand not to use this thing without thinking about where it's pointed. Seriously, this thing is not a toy! I don't even let people touch it unless they prove to me they understand the dangers and precautions. It's just too dangerous, which is why it's so dang fun!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Martin H
Nov 29, 2010
I am writing this testimonial not because of any bonus points. I am afraid I will probably not buy more laser products simply because the 1W Spartan laser and eyewear you sent me are so absolutely perfect and beautiful that I do not see any way to improve on them. Meanwhile, I've got myself a small glass lens that focusses the light into a tiny spot for improved burning and an additional stationary power supply that lets me control the current exactly. I am 30 years old but I feel like a little boy when playing around with this thing and cutting little windows into all kinds of materials and then see them catch fire. Anyway, delivery speed, pricing (no customs fee) and quality of delivered goods were top notch. I really could not be happier.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
R Z
Nov 29, 2010
I'm willing to tell you that I appreciated your service, even though
you hada check claim about my VISA card/check/validity.... As A Swiss
we are extremely sensitive on what concerns our warranties or our
solvabilities..etc etc.. Anyway got the piece in reasonable time. I
must say that it overpassed all expectations! Device finitions are
remarkless, state of theart. Precise execution! Again, bravo for the
absolute top quality of theframe.One B-Mol, no rechargeable batts!!
Shipping qual TOP! One thing thatwould be appreciated, lense shutter
on your spartan: for safety and deviceprotection.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Dorlean S
Oct 29, 2010
I just received my Spartan 1 watt blue laser pointer and my two diffraction gratings. My purchase was everything I expected and I am very pleased with it. The laser body is made of solid metal and black in color. The shipping was fast and arrived five days after they had shipped it. The laser lights matches, pops balloons and burns plain cardboard very easily. I am glad I had previously purchased a pair of protective goggles, as the laser dot is overwelmingly bright. But the goggles make it possible to see what you are doing when you are burning things up close. The laser beam is very visible in both the day and night. And I am very pleased with the diffraction gratings which are great for creating awe inspiring effects. Their support has been very helpful and I would not hesitate to purchase from them again.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Adrian O
Oct 29, 2010
The Blue Spartan 1 W is a powerful laser, it exceeded my expectations and at an affordable price.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Kenneth A
Oct 29, 2010
I ordered my Spartan 1 watt blue laser and safety glasses from Dragon Lasers in October 2010. Dragon Lasers provided good communication after my order was placed, and I received my laser on time as promised. The exterior of the laser is rugged metal -- it seems solidly built. As an amateur physicist (college level, but not a total geek), I do not currently have the ability to independently measure the laser's strength. But holy hell, I cannot imagine wanting to use anything more powerful than this! This is absolutely not a toy, and I am definitely satisfied that I got my money's worth. It's also amazing to see all of the crap that is floating around in the air inside and outside my house -- the beam doesn't need artificial fog to be seen where I live. It's a solid thick blue line, just as described by others.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Rodney B
Oct 29, 2010
Your product and service was top notice.
The quality and build of the 1 watt Spartan laser pointer has not let me down.
I appreciate the fact that you verified my information before processing the order.
I've spread the work to friends ands colleagues.
Thank you for being upfront and honest.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Kevin S
Oct 29, 2010
The 1 Watt Spartan build is excellent, could us tighter collimation of
the beam but the competitor (wicked laser) is the same, Dragon service
is much better than the competitor, delivery was as stated (on time vs
8 months late for wicked)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Chanoch S
Oct 29, 2010
Dragon Lasers- Quality lasers and good service.

I ordered the 200mW Aurora laser pointer from Dragonlasers. The laser came quickly and safely. I played with a little bit and to my impression it is a very good laser. It has a nice beam and a round dot.

After palying with it a bit, I realized that I want a more powerful laser such as the 1W Spartan, so I emailed customer service and they said I can return it with no problem, pay an additional price for the Spartan and they will soon send me my new Spartan.

So I sent the 200mW Aurora laser laser back and after two weeks Dragonlasers contacted me and told me that it has been recieved and after I paid the additional price for the Spartan they sent it to me immediately.

My new Spartan arrived quickly and safely and I am happy with it.

This is what I call a good service!

Well done Dragon Lasers for your good products and customer service.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Richard W
Oct 29, 2010
Without hesitation I recommend the 1 Watt Spartan Laser and Laser Safety Glasses from dragonlasers.com. Upon receipt of the Spartan Laser I immediately noticed the solid quality of construction. The metal casing is machined well and the threaded parts have a smooth fit. The beam operates at the advertised power level. Be aware that the beam on this product has some divergence at longer distances. One other thing to note, the quality of the manufacturer is as important as the quality of the product. One time I had a minor issue with a dragonlasers product and they were quick to offer an RMA number and had a reasonable turnaround time with the repair. Be assured this company stands behind their products and will take care of you as a customer.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Chris B
Oct 29, 2010
The shipping time was less desirable than I had hoped but the product is top notch! Best laser provider around when it comes to quality and overall customer service. Wouldn't buy another one from anywhere else. The diffraction lens I purchased with the laser is outstanding.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Thomas D
Oct 29, 2010
I am very pleased with the 200 mw 447nm laser I purchased from Dragon Lasers. Shipping was prompt, and the laser has performed flawlessly for over 3 months now. The circular beam is bright and the collimation is very good.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Jeff F
Oct 29, 2010
To say I'm satisfied with my Spartan would be a gross understatement. The unit is simply perfect - from the sleek, tough exterior, to the beautiful beam it emits. After spending many months waiting for an overhyped laser from a different company which will remain nameless (but who's name shared the title of a certain Oz-related Broadway Musical), and many (broken) promises from said company, I jumped over to Dragon and purchased my Spartan. It was a fantastic choice, because it is a fantastic piece of equipment. It is every bit as powerful as advertised, a joy to use, and it's understated design slips into a pocket for ease of transportation. If you're considering a laser in this power range, do yourself a favor, and go with Dragon. You won't regret it.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Lluis P
Sep 29, 2010
hello
Long visit various websites looking for a blue laser, especially wanted a very powerful laser at a competitive price.
Fortunately I found the website dragonlasers and I bought the spartan 1w, I came in perfect condition and perfect finishes, from 0-10 you get a 9, highly recommended. Greetings

hola,
Durante mucho tiempo visite varias páginas web buscando un laser azul, sobretodo quería un laser muy potente y con un precio competitivo.
Afortunadamente encontre la web de dragonlasers y pude comprar el spartan 1w, me llego en perfecto estado y con unos acabados perfectos, de 0-10 le pongo un 9, muy recomendable. saludos
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Elias P
Sep 29, 2010
First of all let me thank you for letting me know of the delays you were experiencing. I view this type of feedback as a necessary part of good customer service and in this respect, you are far better than other sites I can think of.

Second, let me say that my laser shipped about a week and two days after I ordered, so faster than expected. It arrived safely. The packaging is thorough, but spartan. There is only the laser and no instructions.

But the laser itself.... absolutely awesome quality. A well built host and excellent performance. Mine seems to run at a constant 530mW with a peak at 540ish. Very low beam divergence as well. For reference, I'm feeding mine with Tenergy RCR 123A 750mAh LiFePo4. They're rated at 3.0V, but clock around 3.2-3.3V when fully charged.

Overall, I must say that I am very impressed with the quality of your service and your lasers. I look forward to my next purchase from dragonlasers.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (0)
Lorenzo P
Aug 29, 2010
I've bought a Spartan 447nm 1W and I love it, I recommend Dragonlasers!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Dennis R
Aug 29, 2010
I was very impressed with the build quality of the 1 watt Spartan. The Spartan is built to last and the best 1 Watt Blue laser you can buy, also, no silly smart swtich, you simply turn it on for full power or off simple as that, no hassles of combinations to get to full power. I also bought the Safety glasses to go with my Spartan, they work great, and also work very well with my green lasers.

As for the service, all I can say it's fantasic, and all emails get answered, took about 2 weeks to get my Spartan, so very good service indeed.

The thing I did not like was the Spartan host, but when I received my Spartan then knew I was getting quality and made to last.

Would I recommend the Spartan, and Dragon Lasers? The answer is a big Yes.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Zach D
Aug 29, 2010
The 1W Spartan is very powerful, very useful, and extremely cool! The beam itself is beautiful at night and even visible during the day while indoors. It also has incredible burning power, lighting red tipped matches almost instantly! I ordered the Blue 1W Spartan from DragonLasers because they are the best laser company and they have the best customer service. I've ordered from them before and will continue to in the future.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Luka H
Aug 29, 2010
I bought the Spartan 1 Watt blue laser because I have good experience with Dragon lasers and because of the incredible low price. It is my second laser. I bought the 55 mW green Viper 3 months before that. I am already impressed with the Viper but the Spartan is far, far better. The built quality is outstandig, it is heavy, strong, precisely built and most of all it looks good! The biggest difference between the Viper and the Spartan is the beam width thus it is far more visible in the night sky. And the power!!! If you are not in a hurry, you can cut a hole in a CD. Poping baloons is so easy it takes all the fun away. I also bought the rechargable RCR123A batteries so I do not have to worry about buying new batteries all the time. So, is it worth the price? Defenately !!!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Mathieu F
Aug 29, 2010
This laser is my best one. Very bright beam, you can see it in daylight. Very powerfull also. It burn any black surface INSTANTLY!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Paul V
Aug 29, 2010
It's amazing that a laser this good is sold for such a reasonable price ...
The Spartan has a nice, compact design. And the beam quality is very, very good.
Compared to the beautiful 40mW 470nm Spartan, which I also own, this beam is much brighter and of course 10 times more powerful.
which is easily tested by lighting a match or making any dark colored object smoke ...
I compared it directly to a 1W 447nm laser from another company (WL), and the 400mW Spartan has an almost equal burning power, thanks to its much better divergence and thinner beam. On top of that, the batteries last longer in the Spartan and -as said before- it's beam quality is infinitely better than the "other" laser. Safety goggles are very much recommended with this kind of power though !
Be careful and don't careless point this beam around you.
Of course, after working with this 400mW beauty, I could not resist also ordering the 1W Spartan
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Nick B
Aug 29, 2010
I've always been interested in lasers, expecially ones that burn but I didn't know that those types of laser even existed for a while until I found some videos on the internet. Not only did I find out that they are powerful enough to burn or melt things but you can get different coloured ones as well.

First couple of lasers I had were little 1 to 2mW red keyring ones that both broke, I think; a few years after that I bought a 125mW green laser which I still have but it wasn't from Dragonlasers and I thought "this is really cool and it's so powerful" so, in August this year while I was on my school summer break, I had some money saved up, I wasn't necessarily going to buy a laser but one day, after a couple of days thought, I decided to buy one and I'd recently been told about Dragonlasers' new blue 447 nm lasers which were pretty cheap compared to some of their other products so I spoilt myself and bought the 400mW Spartan blue laser. I had a few queries so I sent an email and was worried when it wasn't replied to but I didn't realise that Dragonlasers don't work on weekends but I got a reply the following Monday.

The laser took nearly two weeks to get to me which is pretty good considering it came all the way from China. Well, a few months on, now that I've had a chance to play around with it and have got hold of some good batteries, I have to say that I'm very happy and satisfied with my laser; everyone who's seen it has been very impressed and I might buy from Dragonlasers again at some point and I'd recommend them to anyone who's thinking of getting a sturdy, powerful laser for whatever purpose.

Going back to the situation with the batteries, you'll probably have to play around with these lasers using different kinds of batteries until you feel it's performing up to it's stated abilities. Other than that, it looks really cool during the night when it's raining or foggy and it lights up rooms almost as effectively as a normal overhead light; I can't wait to play with my laser in the winter fog and I also want to get a video demo up of it soon as well so that'll HOPEFULLY come into existance sooner or later.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (2)
Andrew L
Jul 29, 2010
I received my 447nm Spartan 1 Watt within 21 days of ordering and being delivered to Victoria, British Columbia, Canada. What an amazing laser. The beam spot is even visible approx. 160 meters/380ft using a laser range finder) on trees in the daytime!
The 1 Watt Spartan feels and looks good when held. It does not look like a "toy", but rather like a military tool. I was impressed with Tim Davies battery review and purchased from the Battery Superstore (California) the "6 RCR123A 3.0V 750mAh LiFePO4 Rechargeable Batteries with Smart Charger Kit" for $26.99 US.

I had done a lot of research for a 1 Watt laser after learning about Wicked Lasers Arctic and found it's only other competitor was Dragonlaser. The "drama" with customer relations and "hit & miss" quality with Wicked Laser Arctic had me running to Dragonlaser 1 Watt Spartan. I am so happy with my Spartan that I read Wicked Lasers Facebook and Laser Community websites like a "Comic" book.

I prefer the simple on and off switch because it's all business. I have another device that has a single multifunction switch and find it very annoying either to get it on, dimmed, flashing and off. That's 3 of the 4 switch press's fom just for on to off!

Frank and Adam of Dragonlasers always returned my e-mails and in a timely manner. If there was ever a delay they wrote to me before I wrote them. I am looking forward to my next purchase from them.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (2) / No (0)
Mikael H - Sweden July 2010
Jul 29, 2010
Great build and good quality with stable output. However misleading marketing due to promise of circular beam when it has no optical correction. This results in square beam profile - not circular. Power output ~270mW. Quite short duty time (gets VERY hot and fast), could be improved by lowering the power output to
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (3) / No (0)